New York is, if nothing else, quite an experience. More than once in the last few days I have had an experience with a crazy person that was totally worth recording, and I just haven't had the patience or focus to get it out on paper. But, with a collective of things to say, as well as the guilt of having said nothing in 21 days, here I go...
Dustin left for West Virginia on Sunday, and Jordan, who'll be subletting his room, moved in on Monday. Not having Dustin in the house has been a shift in the energy. It's not good or bad, just different. I adore Jordan, though, and I think we could be good friends. I'm already missing Dustin, though. He brings me peace.
Jordan, Charlie and I decided tonight that we had to get out of the house. Sherry, a girl who lives a few floors up in our building invited me to come out and drink for her birthday, but we ended up deciding to head to our local watering hole, Coogan's. Now, I've been to Coogan's about 4-5 times now, and I think it's always a good time. There's something a little Cheers-y about it, the bartenders seem to know everyone, and it's very much a neighborhood bar. Tonight, since it wasn't the usual karaoke night, there was just about no one in the bar, so we were chatting it up with the bartenders. It was, all in all, a great night.
When we first get in, there's a woman at the bar making photo collages on placemats. Yeah, in a bar. By herself. She then proceeds to interrupt our conversation with silly questions at every opportunity. She was also wearing a shirt I'm pretty sure was made from stretch polyester she bought at Joanne's and just wrapped around herself and pinned. I don't know that it was actually a "shirt". Also, it was adorned with a handmade felt flower. You can't make this stuff up, people. She said to me, "You're a really beautiful woman, but you remind me of Amy Winehouse"... my favorite part of that sentence was the "but"... I could go on and on, she was full of funny sound bites, but I don't know that she's nearly as funny on paper.
Our neighborhood also has a dancer. There's this man who dances down the street at all times, and really -- he's not bad. He's usually got an ipod or walkman of some sort on, but sometimes he's just walking and dancing. When I say dancing, I'm talking full on, Janet Jackson music video style. It's intense. He's also really serious about being the Washington Heights Dancer. You'd have to see him to understand. I went to Wendy's the other day with no makeup on in a long sleve thermal and sweats.... and he was out dacin' it up, with a camcorder... somehow I ended up on film. I don't think it's going anywhere I need to worry about looking like death... but I really did look like death.
A couple of small personal realizations: I overuse both the :) emoticon and the ...... I should get new material.
Off to dreamland now.
L
Wednesday, October 01, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment