There's still a lot left to do before I go, the most important of which is sell my car. I think I'm going to have to spend the money and run it on autotrader till it sells, and I'll just change the number to Lisa's when I leave so she can show people the car. I also ought to have the mirror fixed and see what it would cost to replace the stolen hubcap. I hate cars. I'm so excited to be someone who doesn't drive. They are just moneypits.
Most of the other things left to do is to tightly pack and tape up the last 2-3 boxes worth of stuff so it can be shipped out to me. I'm incredibly happy that Dan offered to help with that, because I have given away so much of my stuff, I think it would be really hard to give away anything else.
I wish I was in a better place emotionally right now. I'm such a mix of feelings. On one hand, I'm excited and happy and proud of myself, and ready to take on this new adventure, whatever it brings. On the other hand, I am sad to leave the people I love and torn about some decisions I made months ago. I know that you can't live in the past, and so many sad things are often entirely for the best, but sometimes that's hard to see in the moment. I know that everything I am doing right now is a step in the right dicrection, a step in a healthy direction, and I'm stronger than I have ever been. That should be enough to make me proud. I suppose it really is.
I'm covering the front desk right now for the office I am temping at, mostly because there's nothing else for me to do. There's actually another girl who covers the phones, but they are having me do it, as they've run out of projects to give me. Someone gave me a stack of like 15 contracts to file and then was shocked when I was done quickly. That's funny to me. This is, however, not the MOST boring job I have worked in my life, so I guess I'm lucky to have something to do that doesn't make me want to tear the hair out of my head one at a time. Working at that boutique seriously made me insane; I have never been that bored.
I'm incredibly excited about spending sometime with the girls tonight and dyeing Erin's hair, I think all in all it will be a nice night. I'm hoping to find a not-too-expensive cute top to wear out this weekend, as it's been a really long time since I have been to the Rack.
I need to learn to make happier play lists on my itunes. :) When I was getting out of the Alameda apt, Dan came by and was like, "Why are you cleaning to sad music"... I didn't have an answer. I guess I just like sad music right now. I'm big into "I Don't Wanna Live" by Chris Cagle...
Yay for shopping and the big apple, boo for going back to doing nothing at this boring job.
Thursday, May 15, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

1 comment:
It's always darkest right before dawn Lex.
....cheesy I know....but from someone who has relocated A LOT; it's true. I know how you feel(probably on more levels than we think).
This isn't the end of anything..just a new beginning:)
Now off you go, back to your dreary music....it's good for the soul.
xoxo
Kat
Post a Comment